Types of Awards

Australia Awards Masters Scholarships

Scholarships for Masters studies in Australia are offered to eligible African candidates for postgraduate studies. The next round of applications will open from 1 September 2018.

Focus sectors for Masters Awards reflect areas that have been identified as priorities by partner governments and in which Australia is recognised as having world-leading expertise and experience. Current priority sectors include Agricultural Productivity, Extractives and Public Policy.

For information on the courses available and institutions that you can apply for, click through to the official Australian Government website for international students.This website is managed by the Australian Trade and Investment Commission (Austrade).

For more information on Masters Scholarships, please see the links below:

Short Courses

Short Courses offer opportunities for short-term postgraduate training delivered in Australia and/or in Africa for up to six weeks. Applications for study commencing in 2019 are open from 1 September 2017 to 15 January 2018.

For more information on Short Course Awards, please see the links below:

Post-Doctoral Fellowships

In 2017, the Australia Awards – Africa program launched the pilot phase for a number of Post-Doctoral Fellowships in partnership with the Australia Africa Universities Network (AAUN), with a view to scaling up and offering post-docs to other selected countries in future. The pilot was initially open to eligible applicants affiliated to South African universities who are members of the AAUN. For 2018, the second phase of the pilot will be open to eligible applicants affiliated with Ghanaian, Kenyan or South African universities who are members of the AAUN.

Applications for study commencing in 2019 are open from 1 September 2017 to 30 November 2017.

The Post-Doctoral Fellowship provides financial support for African academics affiliated to eligible Ghanaian, Kenyan and South African universities and engaged in research activity. Fellowships will be for up to two years, and comprise research components in both Australia and Ghana, Kenya or South Africa. It is limited to 12 months in Australia. The Australian component of the award will be fully funded by the Australia Awards – Africa program.

For more information on Post-Doctoral Fellowships, please see the links below:

Australia Awards Fellowships

Australia Awards Fellowships offer Australian organisations, from all sectors, the opportunity to deepen and broaden their links with leaders and professionals in developing countries. The Fellowships provide Fellows with the opportunity to undertake short-term study and professional development and they aim to:

  • strengthen partnerships and links between Australian organisations and partner organisations in developing countries, in support of Australia’s economic diplomacy and public diplomacy objectives; and
  • increase the capacity of developing countries to advance priority foreign affairs and development issues of shared interest at the country, sub-regional and regional levels.

Fellowships target current and future leaders and mid-career professionals who will be in a position to advance priority foreign affairs and development issues on their return home. Fellowship activities are aimed at providing high-quality training, exchange of expertise, skills and knowledge, and opportunities to enhance networks on issues of shared interest.

Any questions?

If you cannot find the answer on our FAQs page, feel free to get in touch using the contact form.